please wait...

New inductees to the SCUBA Diving Hall of Fame

Published on: 19th October, 2015 | Diving News
Photo credit: Scuba Hall of Fame 2015
Five people will be recognised in the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame in 2015: Bill High, Dr. Albert José Jones, Peter Hughes, Wally Muller and Dimitri Rebikoff.

Bill High is being honored for his contributions to underwater science, education and training. He is responsible for assisting on a number of publications such as the NOAA diving manual and books on inspecting SCUBA cylinders.

Albert Jose Jones for his work establishing dive clubs including the National Association of Black Scuba Divers.

Peter Hughes for developing pioneering diving resorts in the Cayman Islands including Anthony’s Key and Dive Bonaire.

Wally Muller for establishing the liveaboard industry in Australia and work on remote shark habitats.

Dimitri Rebikoff for his pioneering work on underwater scooters and remotely operated vehicles.

The International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame was started in 2000 by the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism. It honors people who have made a significant contribution to SCUBA diving in a variety of fields and includes Education, Exploration, travel and equipment design.

The original article ‘Inductees, honorees to be added to Scuba Hall of Fame’ by Laura Durston is available here: http://www.compasscayman.com/caycompass/2015/09/18/Inductees,-honorees-to-be-added-to-Scuba-Hall-of-Fame/


Ryan Duchatel

REC Divemaster, OC & CCR TEC diver. PhD candidate in Experimental Pharmacology